The Journal

March 3rd, 2022

so some time in early may, between May 3rd and 6th, I'm leaving my home to wander the United States and its incredibly varied lands and cultures within. I have no love for the laws within or the wars we fight, but the people here can be wonderful and strange, and I'd like to find that. I plan on having little but a backpack, some supplies, and the clothes on my back. I'm incredibly lucky to have a home to return to if I need it, and the ability to prepare for this, so I may as well.

Alright, so today I realized how much potential planning I might need for an endeavor such as semi-homelessness. As I read it, the priorities are about having adequate water, good shoes, a good sleeping setup, and a good bag. I'm primarily concerned by the bag aspect and what I might need as far as a bag goes, like, could I get by on using a bag I had from high school, or should I use some of my money to get something more specific to hiking? advice varies quite a bit, but I think it comes down to preference and how much you're willing to handle weight-wise. Like, a water key might be a good idea to get at any outdoor taps you can find, and it might justify its weight, but it's a gamble. I just do not know how to determine where I would fall on that.

however, there is apparently shitloads of experience on this topic online that I could certainly take a look at. so that is my next thing to do, go over the experiences of many vagabonds and such online. It would be good to collect whatever information I get, however, I'll probably never feel ready for this no matter who much I take a look through. I'll deal with it as it comes, I suppose.